June 2021 Wrap Up

June – a month that somehow both flew by but also moved at such a slow pace. How is that even possible?

Maybe it’s the lack of inspiration I’ve felt while reading this month. Maybe it’s the endless feeling of being in lockdown measures (that are slowly lifting), that’s had me waiting for something to happen, my mind wandering to other things instead of reading. Who knows?

This month wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t great either. How did June go for you?


New Favourite

Songs in Ursa Major by Emma Brodie

Thank you Penguin Random House Canada for sending me a gifted copy of this book! Honestly, this is THE book of the summer for me. Such a heartfelt, deep and touching story that deals with sexism in the music industry, addiction, mental health, and so much more. IMO, this is better than Daisy Jones. I said what I said! 5/5

Books I Liked

We Are the Brennans by Tracey Lange

Thank you Celadon Books for my ARC in exchange for an honest review. This one is marketed to be in the vein of ASK AGAIN, YES by Mary Beth Keane, and I totally agree with this! Just take the family drama of AAY, add some mystery elements to it, and you get We Are the Brennans! Although I’m not too crazy about the ending, I think this is worth the read, it’s short and entertaining for sure! 4/5

Act Your Age, Eve Brown by Talia Hibbert

Ok. This book was just above average for me in terms of Eve and Jacob. I really did NOT get the chemistry between them, like I did with Dani and Zafir. The writing was great though, as always from Talia Hibbert! I just didn’t vibe with this, and that’s ok. I know many people say that Eve is the most relatable of the sisters, so definitely still read this entire series if you haven’t already! 4/5

Just An Average Book

The Maidens by Alex Michaelides

The curse of the sophomore novel….ok, this was GOOD. The writing, I mean, Alex always gets a chefs kiss from me. I just couldn’t get behind the decoys, only to be let down by the ending. Which is fine, I mean it’s probably just me. This won’t stop me from picking up his other books though! 3/5 (originally 3.5/5)

Did Not Like At All

People We Meet On Vacation by Emily Henry

Another curse of the sophomore novel…but this one just wasn’t IT. The romance? Nope. Didn’t get it. The flip between past and present? NOOO. Give me one that happens literal YEARS ago, not like 2. And the reason they weren’t talking for two years? OMG. Hugest let down for me in 2021 so far. 2.5/5

A Betting Woman by Jenni L. Walsh

Oh god. In principle, I should’ve loved this. I WANTED to love it. But between the repetitive details to the long chapters. this just felt like a brick to read. What hurts the most is that it was a Once Upon a Book Club choice, and they’re usually so on point! Not this time, unfortunately. 2.5/5


Rep Codes

Once Upon a Book Club – READINGMARIA10 – international shipping (10% off)

Poooliprint – READINGMARIA – international shipping (15% off)

READINGMARIA: WeekendBookSleeves

ReadingMaria20: Dundurn Press

2 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s